La Ferme-les-Hirondelles

~ Bray-Dunes et la région ~

 

Bray-Dunes is located at a crossroads and will give you wings during your stay in our accommodations. In order to make you enjoy your staty at Lla Ferme aux Hirondelles, we suggest you two itineraries that will help you to organize your plans and not miss anything of our beautiful region ! Depending on your wishes, discover an amazing cultural and historical heritage with the Heritage Tour, or enjoy our natural sites with the Sport and Nature Tour !

 

 

Heritage Tour

 

- Bergues (France), at 20 minutes (16 km)
   
 
Small Flemish city, Bergues is surrounded by battlements and built around its belfry, which is classified as World Heritage by UNESCO. The city is also famous through the movie of Dany Boon, called "Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis", and is punctuated by the sound of its bells every fifteen minutes. Do not miss the traditional market every morning to try the best farm products of our region.
. bergues
   
- Dunkirk (France), at 15 minutes (12 km)
   
 

dunkerque

The history of Dunkirk is closely related to the sea. Dunkirk was first a village of fishermen, before becoming a city of pirates such as Jean Bart, the most famous one. Because of its position, Dunkirk has been strongly striked by the wars during the 20th century. The city is now an important industrial center with the third port of France, but Dunkirk also kept its cultural and historical heritage. Between January and March, the Carnival of Dunkirk attracts thousands of people partying in the street with band and drums. The Port Mueseum and its boat---museums present the history of Dunkirk and its port.
   
- Veurne (Belgium), at 14 minutes (12 km)
   
 
Veurne is a Flemish city with a strong spanish influence in its architecture and traditions. The Boeteprocessie (procession of the penitents), the last sunday of July, is an event that includes cross-carrying and hooded penitents with the participations of the inhabitants of the city.
. furnes
   
- Ypres (Belgium), at 30 minutes (35 km)
   
 

ypres

Strongly striked by the First World War, Ypres has been a victim of barbarism. This part of the Western Front was a place of appalling casualties, and now became a memorial for hundreds of thousands of British families. The destroyed buildings have been rebuilt with a remarkable precision. The museum "In Flanders Fields" uses the most modern technology to relive that terrible time.

   
- Bruges (Belgium), at 50 minutes (67 km)
   
 

Bruges is classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, and its sights are visited by thousands of tourists during all the year. Often called "the Little Venice of the North" because of the many canals that surrounds the city, Bruges is a typical Flemish city with a lot of museums and cultural places. Not to be missed.

bruges

   
- Lille (France), at 55 minutes (76 km)
   
 

lille

Lille is the capital of the region Nord-Pas de Calais. It will seduce you with its colourful architecture and its warm welcome. In Vieux Lille and at the Grand Place, the flemish art is combined with the refinement of French architecture. Lille was European Capital of Culture in 2004, and it is a young and dynamic city that offers a wide range of cultural events during all the year.

 

 

Sport and Nature Tour

 

- La Dune Marchand, at 2 minutes (1 km)
   
 
The nature reserve of the "Dune Marchand" is an exceptional natural site. It lays on the cities of Bray-Dunes and Zuydcoote. On this area of transition between the seaside and the countryside, hikers will enjoy the fauna and flora on several circuits consisting of a total of 8.5 kilometers. Perfect for a walk into the wild.
. bergues
   
- The French coast, at 5 minutes (2.5 km)
   
 

plage

Farniente, water sports (kitesurfing, sailing, catamaran, etc.), swimming, fishing... the beach is located at only 2.5 km of our accommodations and offers a high variety of activities for beginners and experienced people. From Dunkirk to Bray-Dunes, the bravest people can walk along the twelve kilometers of sandy beach. The others can ride a bike or try the "longe-côte", a sport which is mostly practiced in our region and consists of walking in the water with a paddle.
   
- The Belgian coast, at 19 minutes (10 km)
   
 
De Panne, Koksijde, Nieuwpoort, Ostend... the Belgian coast begins at the border with Bray-Dunes. After a walk on the sandy beaches, take a sweet time and enjoy the icecreams, waffles and excellent Belgian biers! In Nieuwpoort, you can also rent a horizontal net and spend a good fishing time!
. nieuwpoort
   
- The Mounts of Flanders, at 45 minutes (40 km)
   
 

monts de flandres

The chain of Mouns of Flanders consists of Mont Cassel (178m), Mont des Récollets (159m), Mont de Boeschepe (137m), Mont des Cats (158m) andMont Noir (130m). These sites are ideal for hiking and driving mountain bike, but also for discovering the gastronomic treasures of Flanders in the "estaminets", small restaurants typical from the North of France and Belgium.
   
- Site des Deux Caps, at 51 minutes (67 km)
   
 

The "Site des Deux Caps" ("Site of two capes") is an exceptionnal natural site of 23 kilometers along the coast. The capes "Blanc-Nez" and "Gris-Nez" offer an amazing landscape and satisfy people interested in archeology and fossils. The cliffs overlooking the sea are home to a wide variety of bird species. When the weather is clear, you can see the British coast, on the other side of the North Sea.

deuxcaps

   
- Bike excursions
   
 

velo

Our flat region is propitious for excursions by bike. Several circuits have been created to discover the region by having a good time alone or with the family.The circuit "Cobergher" will make you roam the green plains that surround us, between France and Belgium.

 

Hire our bikes adapted to all the members of your family at small prices, for a day or the week !

La Ferme-les-Hirondelles

~ Bray-Dunes et la région ~

 

Bray-Dunes est situé sur un carrefour d’axes routiers qui vous donnera des ailes. Afin que vous profitiez au maximum de votre séjour à la Ferme aux Hirondelles, nous vous proposons deux circuits qui pourront inspirer votre programme et vous permettront de ne rien manquer de notre belle région ! Selon vos envies, partez à la découverte d'un riche héritage culturel et historique avec le Circuit Patrimoine, ou admirez nos sites naturels et détendez vous via le Circuit Sport et Nature !

 

 




Circuit patrimoine

 

- Bergues (France), à 20 minutes (16 km)
   
 
Petite cité flamande de caractère, Bergues est entourée de remparts et construite autour de son imposant beffroi, classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. La ville, aussi célèbre suite au film de Dany Boon "Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis", est rythmée au son de son carillon tous les quarts d'heure. Ne manquez pas le marché gastronomique et fermier chaque lundi matin, pour découvrir les meilleurs produits de notre terroir.
. bergues
   
- Dunkerque (France), à 15 minutes (12 km)
   
 

dunkerque

L'histoire de la ville de Dunkerque est étroitement liée à la mer. A l'origine un village de pêcheurs, Dunkerque a plus tard abrité des corsaires, dont le plus célèbre est Jean Bart. De par sa position, la ville a été très touchée pers les deux guerres du 20ème siècle. Ville industrielle importante avec le 3eme port de France, Dunkerque n'en demeure pas moins un riche patrimoine culturel et historique. Entre janvier et mars, son carnaval attire des milliers de "carnavaleux" au rythme de la fanfare et de ses tambours. Le musée portuaire et ses bateaux-musées présentent les métiers de la mer et l'histoire du port de Dunkerque.
   
- Furnes (Belgique), à 14 minutes (12 km)
   
 
La petite ville flamande présente une forte influence espagnole au niveau de son architecture et de ses traditions. La Procession des Pénitents, qui a lieu le dernier dimanche de juillet, est une manifestation impressionante à laquelle participent de nombreux habitants cagoulés venus expier leurs fautes en traînant de lourdes croix.
. furnes
   
- Ypres (Belgique), à 30 minutes (35 km)
   
 

ypres

Ville martyre lors de la Première Guerre Mondiale, Ypres est le symbole de la folie des hommes. Cette partie du front occidental fut le théâtre de pertes humaines épouvantables, ce qui en fait une ville souvenir pour des centaines de milliers de familles britanniques. Les monuments détruits ont été reconstruits avec une précision remarquable. Le musée "In Flanders Fields" fait revivre cette époque terrible avec des moyens technologiques modernes.
   
- Bruges (Belgique), à 50 minutes (67 km)
   
 

Classée au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco, la ville de Bruges est un point d'intérêt fréquenté par de niombreux touristes du monde entier. Surnommée "la petite Venise du Nord" en raison des nombreux canaux qui l'encerclent, Bruges est une ville flamande par excellence et très riche en musées et lieux culturels. A ne manquer sous aucun prétexte.

bruges

   
- Lille (France), à 55 minutes (76 km)
   
 

lille

Capitale de la région Nord-Pas de Calais, Lille vous séduira par son architecture colorée et son accueil chaleureux. Dans le Vieux Lille et sur la Grand Place, l'art flamand est concilié au raffinement de l'architecture à la française. Capitale Européenne de la Culture en 2004, Lille est une ville jeune et dynamique offrant une richesse d'événements culturels tout au long de l'année.

 

 

Circuit Sport et Nature

 

- La Dune Marchand, à 2 minutes (1 km)
   
 
La réserve naturelle de la Dune Marchand forme un milieu naturel d'exception. Elle s'étend sur les communes de Bray-Dunes et Zuydcoote. Dans cette zone de transition entre terre et mer, amateurs de randonnée pourront admirer la faune et la flore sur plusieurs circuits pour un total de 8.5 kilomètres. Idéal pour faire le plein d'air frais.
. bergues
   
- Le littoral, à 5 minutes (2.5 km)
   
 

plage

Farniente, sports nautiques (kitesurf, planche à voile, catamaran, etc.), baignade, pêche à la crevette... la plage située à seulement 2.5 km des gîtes offre une multitude d'activités que vous soyez novices ou expérimentés. De Dunkerque à Bray-Dunes, ce sont plus de douze kilomètres de sable fin que les plus courageux pourront même parcourir à pied, en vélo ou en pratiquant le longe-côte, sport pratiqué essentiellement dans la région et consistant à marcher dans l'eau à l'aide d'une pagaie.
   
- La côte Belge, à 19 minutes (10 km)
   
 
La Panne, Koksijde, Nieuwpoort, Ostende... la côte flamande est frontalière avec Bray-Dunes et ses plages sont également de sable fin. Après une promenade sur le sable ou sur la digue, accordez vous un moment de gourmandise et dégustez glace, gauffre sans oublier les excellentes bières belges ! A Nieuwpoort, essayez-vous à la pêche au carreau (location possible) !
. nieuwpoort
   
- Les Monts de Flandre, à 45 minutes (40 km)
   
 

monts de flandres

La chaîne des Monts de Flandre est formée du Mont Cassel (178m), Mont des Récollets (159m), Mont de Boeschepe (137m), Mont des Cats (158m) et Mont Noir (130m). Cet ensemble naturel dans une région très plate est l'endroit idéal pour vos randonnées, mais aussi pour découvrir les richesses gastronomiques des Flandres dans les petits estaminets qui fleurissent dans cette région.
   
- Site des Deux Caps, à 51 minutes (67 km)
   
 

Le Site des Deux Caps, site naturel d'exception, s'étend sur 23 kilomètres de littoral. Les caps du Blanc-Nez et du Gris-Nez, en plus d'offrir un paysage à couper le souffle, vont aussi satisfaire les amateurs d'archéologie et de fossiles. Les falaises surplombant la mer abritent une large variété d'espèces d'oiseaux. Amis de la nature, vous serez comblés !

deuxcaps

   
- Promenade à vélo
   
 

velo

Notre plat pays est idéal pour vos ballades en vélo. D'ailleurs, de nombreux circuits ont été élaborés afin de découvrir au mieux la région. Le circuit Cobergher flirte avec la frontière belge et vous fera silloner les plaines verdoyantes qui nous entourent.

 

Profitez de notre location de vélos adaptés à tous les membres de votre famille à petit prix, à la journée ou à la semaine !!